Dr. Andrew Smith, professor of Political Science and Director of the University of New Hampshire Survey Center wins the 2021 John M. Kennedy Achievement Award

Dr. Andrew Smith, Director of the University of New Hampshire Survey Center and Professor of Practice in Political Science, has been named the 2021 John M. Kennedy Achievement Award winner by the Association of Academic Survey Research Organizations (AASRO). A nationally recognized expert in public opinion research and presidential politics, Dr. Smith is being honored for his service and leadership to the survey research profession, his teaching in Political Science, his survey methods research, and for his work directing the UNH Survey Center.

Dr. Smith has taken part in countless interviews with the news media over the years, making major contributions to public understanding of both opinion polling and civic participation in the political process. A respected and popular professor, students recommend dropping by his office for insightful and in-depth responses to their questions, and note that his classes are worth adjusting their schedules to attend. His areas of expertise include trends regarding political candidates and issues, the New Hampshire Primary, and presidential politics.

Dr. Smith's survey methods research focuses on question wording effects, question and response order effects, non-attitudes, and methodologies for improving the accuracy of pre-election polls. AASRO recognizes Dr. Smith not only for his substantive contributions to the field and his years of teaching, but also his long service to his profession. Dr. Smith's Survey Center was a founding member of AASRO, and he has served as member and chair of many AASRO committees, in addition to having served as the organization's president and hosting their annual meeting. Dr. Smith is also an actively contributing member of AAPOR - the Association for Public Opinion Research, the national professional organization that includes survey researchers in all four sectors: academic, non-profit, for-profit and government. Dr. Smith currently serves as president of the regional AAPOR affiliate, NEAPOR (New England Association for Public Opinion Research).

The awarding organization, the Association of Academic Survey Research Organizations or AASRO, is dedicated to supporting and promoting excellence in survey research, and training the next generation of survey methodologists and public opinion researchers. Membership is made up of academic survey research organizations from across the country. For more information, visit www.aasro.org.